Daniel Monday Scam Alert
Monday, November 10th, 2008By Michael Dorausch, DC
There is a chance you are reading this post because you’ve received an e-mail, by a person named Daniel Monday, who says they want to buy your stuff. After hosting chiropractic ads for the past 10 years, we’ve discovered that the same scammers visiting our website, go to many others as well. While these posts appear unimportant for our normal readers (my apologies) they’ve reportedly been very helpful in thwarting online scam activity.
It’s been a productive weekend that the planet chiropractic office. We’ve been working on some upgrades to the classified ads system, in order to provide better service to those using the website for selling and buying chiropractic equipment.
Thanks to an incredibly engaged classified ad community, we’ve been able to cut back significantly on fraudulent e-mails reaching our users. Below I am posting and actual e-mail sent by Daniel Monday from his back2streetat40@yahoo.com Yahoo e-mail account.
Take a look at posts such as those regarding Mr. Benson in Nigeria, Mr. Smith Matt, Tom Marley, and Mike Rapp. These are all expected to be the same group of individuals (or even one individual) using different names and different e-mail accounts to target unsuspecting people selling items online.
Here is a reply to someone’s classified ad, from Daniel Monday, with an IP address of 65.49.2.157.
Reading the e-mail, you can see the telltale signs that this is a scam. #1 is that the sender asks whether cashiers checks or postal money orders are excepted as payment. #2 is that the sender mentions using a private shipping company to handle item delivery. Both of these are hallmark signs of online classified ads scams.
===================
Sender IP: 65.49.2.157
Posted To: Chiropractic Classifieds
Hello,
I came across your ad and I’ll like to know the following questions regarding
the ad.
Q#1. How long have you owned it?
Q#2. a) Have you owned
it from new? b) If not how many previous owner?
Q#3.Why are you selling it?
Q#4. In your opinion, what
sort of conditionis it?
Q#5. Any available photo?
Q#6. How much are you asking for it?
Q#7. Do you accept a ( Cashier Check / postal Money Order with cheque)as a
mode of payment.
Q#8. Kindly get back to me with ur FULL NAME,FULL CONTACT ADDRESS,TEL # so
that payment willbe issued and mailed to you.
Note that you dont need to worry about shipping as i have a private shipping
company that will take care of the shipping and delivery of the item once
payment is been received by you.I’ll like to have the response to these
question in your earliest conviniency.Hope to hear from you soon.
Thanks
Daniel
Daniel Monday
back2streetat40@yahoo.com
===================
If you sell stuff online, and you’ve received an e-mail similar to this one, I would contact the webmaster of the site you were using, and forward them all sender information, so they can take action.
